What Would Happen if *gasp* an Anti-Trans Article had Good Points

Orrin Konheim
3 min readMar 30, 2023

I’ve evolved on gay rights over the years. Like anyone growing up in the 90s, I found the concept of gay people icky and unnatural. Most zoomers have no concept of this period. They could find material to cancel at least 80–90% of my high school population during this era if they were determined enough.

Before entering the era until identity politics took over until roughly 2015, I didn’t have any problem with gay rights. To be clear, I still don’t and I don’t like people in the LGBT+ population any less. If I know someone who identifies as such, I still listen to their firsthand accounts of struggle. The problem is the dialogue that surrounds them that becomes dogmatic. One of the most cancellable crimes today, likely behind grand larceny, bullying, or embezzlement is saying something remotely critical of the trans community.

This isn’t to suggest that the trans community isn’t oppressed beyond belief.

However, there are certainly valid points of discussion. I recently read this and found myself agreeing with much of it.

Every Gender Identity Is ‘Authentic’ — Until It Isn’t (quillette.com)

Even if the points are not good, I’d love to be proven wrong but in most cases that would never happen because it’s practically suicidal today to post anything remotely critical of transgenderism.

Fortunately, I’m socially suicidal enough to do so, but this is often labeled as “hate…

--

--

Orrin Konheim

Freelance journalist w/professional bylines in 3 dozen publications, writing coach, google me. Patreon: http://www.patreon/com/okjournalist Twitter: okonh0wp